Professor Noted:
Internet Gateways
- Biology Browser [Managed by BIOSIS]
- Biology Links [Harvard]
- BioSciences [WWW Virtual Library]
- Science.gov
- U.S. Geological Survey: Biological Resources
Publications on the Internet
- Biology Hypertextbook [MIT]
- BioTech Life Science Dictionary
- BioUpdates
- Cell Press
- Cogprints: Biology
- List of Serials Indexed for Online Users [Medline]
- Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
- Multilingual Glossary of Technical and Popular Medical Terms in Nine European Languages
- MyNSF [National Science Foundation]
- Nomenclatural Glossary for Zoology
- Online Biology Book
- On-Line Medical Dictionary [CancerWeb]
- Oxford Reference Online [Includes searchable Dictionary of Biology, Oxford Companion to the Body, Dictionary of Ecology, Dictionary of Plant Sciences, Dictionary of Scientists, and Dictionary of Zoology from Oxford University Press. Access restricted to TWU]
- PLoS Biology [Public Library of Science]
- PubMed Central
- Science Magazine
- SpringerLink [Free Springer-Verlag journals table of contents alert service]
- Thesaurus Used in Zoological Record
Search Engines and Directories
- Entrez (NCBI)
- BioText Search Engine (Berkeley)
- ExPASy Life Sciences Directory
- Protocol Online Directory
- Springer Protocols Directory
- Bio NetBook Directory
- INFOMINE Search Engine
Topics on the Internet
- Anatomy Videos (MedlinePlus)
- Anatomy of the Human Body [Henry Gray, 1918]
- Biophysics on the Internet
- Computerized 3-Dimensional Segmented Human Anatomy
[Yale University]
- The Digital Anatomist Information System
- eSkeleton
- Hosford Muscle Tables: Skeletal Muscles of the Human Body
- Human Anatomy Online
- Hypermuscle: Muscles in Action
- Indiana Hand Center
- Medartist.com: Medical Illustrators’ Home Page
- Physiology and Biophysics [WWW Virtual Library]
- Sources for Images and Animations Based on the Visible Human Dataset
- Virtual Autopsy
- Virtual Hospital
- Visible Embryo
- Visible Human Cross Sections
- Visible Human Project
- Whole Brain Atlas
- Yale University School of Medicine Heart Book
- Code of Ethics [ALA]
- Ethics Updates
- EthicsWeb: Applied Ethics Resources
- International Society for Environmental Ethics
- National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
- On Being a Scientist: Responsible Conduct in Research
- Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
Biotechnology Products and Services
- Ag BioTech InfoNet
- Database & Search Tools
- Information Systems for Biotechnology
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
- Agriculture Network Information Center
- AGRIS/CARIS Centre of Information Management for International Agricultural Research
- Botany Virtual Library
- Carnivorous Plant Database
- Plants Database [USDA]
- Plants for a Future: Database Search [Contains over 7000 species and has extensive details on edible, medicinal and other uses of plants together with information about their cultivation and habitats]
- Smithsonian Department Botany
Caenorhabditis Elegans (Nematode)
- The Visible Embryo [Human embryonic development]
Drosophila Melanogaster (Fruit Fly)
- Drosophila [WWW Virtual Library]
- J-Fly
- Access Excellence [National Health Museum (originally developed by Genentech, Inc.)]
- Amateur Science
- Beyond Bio 101: The Transformation of Undergraduate Biology Education [Howard Hughes Medical Institute]
- EarthTrends: The Environmental Information Portal
- Environmental Health and Toxicology [NLM]
- National Association of Environmental Professionals
- National Library for the Environment
- National Oceanographic Data Center
- Tropical Forest Conservation and Development: A Bibliography
- U.S. Global Change Research Information Office [Includes Our Changing Planet annual reports]
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Warming of the Earth [Woods Hole Research Center. A beginner's guide to understanding the issue of global warming]
- The FROGGY Page
- Net Frog
- Virtual Frog Builder Game
- Virtual Frog Dissection Kit [Lawrence Livermore Laboratory]
- All RefSeqGene Records (NCBI)
- CDC Public Health Genomics
- DNA ? the Double Helix Game
- Entrez Gene (NCBI)
- Entrez Nucleotide (NCBI)
- Entrez SNP (NCBI)
- GeneTests Laboratory Directory
- Genome Statute and Legislation Database
- Genetics [WWW Virtual Library]
- Genetics Home Reference
- Genome Workbench (NCBI)
- Human Genome Project Information
- Human Genome Variation Society
- Links to the Genetic World
- Locus Reference Genomic
- Map Viewer (NCBI)
- MendelWeb
- National Human Genome Research Institute
- Omics Gateway
- OMIM – Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (NCBI)
- RatMap: Rat Genome Database
- RefSeq (NCBI)
- RefSeqGene Project
- Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
- Bad Bug Book: Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms and Natural Toxins Handbook
- Cells Alive! [Introduces microbiology and immunology using video and computer animation]
- Microbial Genomes (NCBI)
- World Data Centre for Microorganisms
- Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
- Cell & Molecular Biology Online
- ExPASy Proteomics Server [Expert Protein Analysis System proteomics server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB)]
- NIH Center for Molecular Modeling
- Protein Data Bank (RCSB PDB)
- Internet Neuroscience Resources
- McConnell Brain Imaging Centre
- Neuroanatomy and Neuropathology on the Internet
- Neurological Disorder Resources
- Neuropsychology Central
- Neuroscience [Cogprints]
- Neurosciences on the Internet
- The Whole Brain Atlas
- Female Nobel Prize Laureates
- 4000 Years of Women In Science
- Society of Women Engineers
- South African Women In Science and Engineering
- Women of NASA
- Yeast [WWW Virtual Library]


