Databases

Prescott Valley Databases

Consumer Reports
For complete ratings and recommendations on appliances, cars and trucks, electronic
gear and much more, search Consumer Reports for everything you need to know
before you buy. The Prescott Valley Public Library stocks the most recent
issues on the magazine shelf and prior issues are available online.

EBSCOHost
“EBSCOHost is a worldwide leader in providing information access and management solutions to electronic journal subscription services, research database development and production, online access to more than 150 databases and thousands of e-journals.” A great resource for students!

Espanol

Ebrary Online Ebooks

MasterFILE Premier

NoveList

Newspaper Source

Searchasaurus

Ebooks are digital versions of books and other sources for a broad range of subject areas and topics. NetLibrary provides access to TCP Library’s eContent collection. You can access eContent 24 hours a day, seven days a week via the ‘eBook‘ link. Fiction and NonFiction titles are available to read on the computer screen.

Geneaology
Heritage Quest
Within Prescott Valley Public Library

World Vital Records
Info USA
ReferenceUSA™
“The No. 1 source of information on businesses and people for researchers, students,
job seekers and government agencies. “

Free Web Databases

Academic Publications eJournal
Multi-disciplinary Science–Student driven research abstracts, posters, articles, science specific search engine, public forum

Arizona Statewide Databases

Yavapai College Databases (Must have a YC student ID)

Database (topics covered)

Description

ACS Legacy Archive
Chemistry
(American Chemical Society)Over 30 peer-reviewed journals and archives from 1879 to 1995.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)
News
Alternative and independent presses.
Arizona Republic (ProQuest)
News
Full text articles from the Arizona Republic from 1999 to the present.
Career Cruising
Business, Career
Online Career Exploration including occupational information, vocational biographies, college search information, and a “what’s the best career for me?” quiz.
CQ Researcher
Social sciences, General
(Congressional Quarterly)
Hot issues in the news including health, education, science, technology and social environmental issues.
Credo Reference
General
Over 500 reference titles that include images, sound and video. Constructs bibliographies in MLA, APA and other styles.
Ebrary
Books
The ebrary Academic & Public collection offers simultaneous, multi-user access to more than 70,000 ebook titles in subject areas including Social Sciences, Humanities, Allied Health, Science and Business.
Encyclopedia Britannica
General
An authoritative information source with articles, images, videos and links to reviewed websites.
ERIC
Education
(Educational Resource Information Center)
Literature and resources from The U.S. Dept. of Education.
GeoRef (EBSCOhost)
Geology
American Geological Institute’s geosciences database containing citations for journals, books, maps, theses and dissertations.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
Agriculture, Earth Science
Covers the various aspects of human impact on the environment such as: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost)
Health, Medical
Topics include: medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, drug information, and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
Health, Nursing, Medical
Scholarly journals with a very strong focus on nursing, drug information, and allied health.
Language and Literature (JSTOR)
Literature
Articles covering literary criticism and literary cultures of many different countries.
LexisNexis
Business, Legal, Medical, News
Regional, national & international news including broadcast transcripts, campus newspapers and court cases.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA)
Library Science
Indexes over 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings as far back as the 1960′s.
Literature Criticism Online (LCO)
Literature, Biography
Extensive resource on literary reviews and criticism on short stories, poetry, Shakespeare, 19th – 20th Century and contemporary literature, and biographies of authors.
Literature Online (LION)
Literature, Biography
Literary criticisms, biographies of authors, reference resources, plus over 350,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day.
Mango Languages
Language
Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.
MAS Ultra School (EBSCOhost)
General
Over 500 popular high school magazines. Includes pamphlets, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of more than 200,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Milestone Documents in American History
History, Government Publications
A collection of primary source documents that have shaped American history from 1763 – 2003. Full-text as well as an explanation and analysis of the documents are included.
New York Times Historical Newspaper (ProQuest)
News
Articles from the New York Times from 1851 to 2007.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
Education
Designed for professional educators, the PDC consists of more than 550 journal titles (over 350 peer-reviewed) as well as 200 educational reports.
ProQuest Research Library
General
Humanities, social sciences and sciences. Peer-reviewed articles, constructs bibliography in MLA or APA style.
ReferenceUSA
Business, Career
Find corporate information on US businesses, as well as detailed information on physicians and dentists. A separate phone directory for US residents is also provided.
SIRS Researcher (ProQuest)
Social Sciences, Business, General
Pro and con viewpoints on leading issues such as abortion, capital punishment, cloning, gay rights, and assisted suicide.
Ulrichsweb
Bibliographic
Bibliographic, subscription and circulating information for magazines, journals and newspapers.
WorldCat
Bibliographic
Describes over 60 million items, including books, magazines, a/v titles, maps, musical scores. Displays which libraries own items.
AZ Library Arizona Secretary of State Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records